THE BOOK OF PAUL Movie Trailer

Making a movie trailer for #1 bestselling paranormal thriller The Book of Paul, by Richard Long to pitch the book to TV/film producers.
20130220114945-img_9554i_ret-e13388549289642
Richard Long
1,243 Facebook Friends
Film
New York City, New York
United States
1 Team Member

The goal: We want to get a movie deal and/or HBO/SHO deal for the #1 Amazon Horror and Dark Fantasy bestseller The Book of Paul. 

The plan: We're going to shoot scenes from the book with a professional cast and crew and then edit it into an action-packed, scary, sexy trailer to show on YouTube and other social media outlets. You could look at it as a sneak peak at the film adaption of The Book of Paul--before the movie is made. 

The Book of Paul is incredibly cinematic, written in short, titled chapters that crosscut between scenes and feature multiple character perspectives. In other words, it reads like…a movie. So, naturally, we want to attract the attention of film and television producers and get a big, fat movie or HBO/SHO deal! The Book of Paul is the first volume of a seven book series (did someone say franchise?), so the sequels and prequels should keep producers and fans happy for many years to come. 

Speaking of fans, TBOP has already built up an insanely loyal and enthusiastic fan base. It’s an Amazon bestseller that has garnered 65 five-star reviews, 18 four-star reviews and a handful of one-star reviews from the more squeamish types who couldn’t handle the steamy sex and grizzly horror scenes. That shouldn’t be any problem for fans of Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead, our core demographic. 

So what’s all the excitement about? The Book of Paul is unlike anything you’ve ever read, crossing a number of genres: occult horror, mystery, thriller, dark fantasy, erotica, humor and sci-fi and literary fiction. Call it literary horror if you need a handy label, but that in no way will prepare you for what one reviewer called, “the most intense book I have ever read.” But don’t take our word for it. Check out all the Amazon and Goodreads reviews, or better yet, read the book! 

The budget basics: We’re trying to raise $3,000. The cast and crew are all top-notch, award-winning pros. They’re also all working without pay, because they believe in the project, and know they’re going to get a great piece for their reels. So where is the money going? We need $1,000 per day for camera/lighting/sound equipment (we’re using a top-of-the-line RED camera digital package and Steadicam). It’s a two-day shoot minimum, but we’d like to shoot for three days. We also need special makeup effects that are costly, plus wardrobe, set design, insurance, permits and location costs, which will swallow up whatever else we’re able to raise. 

 We NEED your help to put “Paul” on the screen--because one way or the other, this trailer going to get made! To show our appreciation to all our contributors, we have awesome perks for each and every awesome donor. Check them out in the perks listing. 

Great people like you deserve great perks like this, so we want to thank you all in advance for helping us make The Book of Paul trailer film come alive in a total kickass viewing experience!

Find This Campaign On
$128USD
raised by 3 people in 1 month
4% funded
0 time left
$3,000 USD goal
Flexible Funding This campaign has ended and will receive all funds raised.
Campaign Closed
This campaign ended on June 30, 2013
Select a Perk
  • $10USD
    Follower

    One ebook of The Book of Paul.

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: May 2013
  • $20USD
    Friend

    2 eBooks of The Book of Paul, 2 signed bookmarks.

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: May 2013
  • $25USD
    Supporter

    2 eBooks of The Book of Paul, 2 signed bookmarks, antique handmade iron nail (read the book for full significance!),

    1 claimed

    Estimated delivery: May 2013
  • $50USD
    BF (Best Friend)

    6 digitally autographed eBooks. Great for gifts! 4 signed bookmarks, antique handmade iron nail,

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: May 2013
  • $75USD
    BFF (best friend forever)

    Personalized autographed paperback, 3 autographed eBooks, 4 signed bookmarks, antique handmade iron nail,

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: May 2013
  • $100USD
    Patron

    Autographed paperback copy of The Book of Paul, 4 eBooks, 4 bookmarks, antique iron nail, and acknowledgement at the end of the trailer!

    1 claimed

    Estimated delivery: June 2013
  • $200USD
    Associate Producer

    Two autographed paperback copies of The Book of Paul, 6 eBooks, 10 bookmarks, antique iron nail, acknowledgement at end of trailer, Skype call with author

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: June 2013
  • $500USD
    Executive Producer

    4 signed books, eight ebooks, acknowledgement in trailer, guest appearance on Richard Long's Dead End radio show.

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: May 2013
  • $1,000USD
    Producer

    Producer credit in trailer, 8 autographed copies of The Book of Paul, featured guest appearance on Richard Long's Dead End radio show. Dinner with the author in NYC (if you're buying).

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: June 2013
  • $2,000USD
    Angel

    All of the Producer awards above, PLUS, a voicemail/ring tone recording by the actor playing Paul in the trailer (spooky!), PLUS, the author, Richard Long, winner of over 65 advertising awards, will write copy just for you--to plug whatever product, service, company, charity, or special cause you're involved with!

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: June 2013
  • $5,000USD
    You're such a character!

    All the Producer rewards above, PLUS a very, very, VERY special reward. Okay, hold onto your shorts, this one's a whopper. The author, Richard Long, will create a minor character based on YOU in The Book of Paul sequel! Value: Immortality!

    0 claimed

    Estimated delivery: June 2013
Do you think this campaign contains prohibited content? Let us know.